Daily Devotional | God’s Voice vs. Satan’s Voice

John 10:4, 5 NKJV
“And when he brings out his own sheep, he goes before them; and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice. Yet they will by no means follow a stranger, but will flee from him, for they do not know the voice of strangers.”
 
 
Do you ever question if you are good enough? Are you more likely to dwell on what’s wrong with you than what’s right with you? Are your thoughts usually negative?

One day I realized I was scrutinizing myself to find out what my problem was. The more I picked myself apart, the more it dawned on me another voice was egging me on; the voice of the enemy, Satan. As I listened to his lies, my sense or worth and security were zapped.

For a long time I didn’t even recognize him for who he was. The negative thoughts and deceitful suggestions simply sounded like my own voice. God is not the author of confusion! Remember that the enemy will try to encourage us when we are moving far from God and discourage us when we are moving towards God. The Holy Spirit will do the opposite, encouraging us in God’s will and discouraging us when we rebel against God.

The Bible opens with a serpent slithering into the lives of Adam and Eve. He filled their heads with lies they believed which separated them from God. Jesus, too, was tempted by this liar. He was ready though, with the Word of God, to defeat the evil one. We too can have this weapon in our arsenal. As we fill our hearts and minds with Truth, we can defeat the lies we tell ourselves and the lies Satan whispers to our hearts.

It is vital to distinguish God’s voice from satan’s voice when it is time to make major decisions in our lives.

We all go through times when we can’t seem to hear God clearly. When that happens, that is not a good time to change directions or to change course. You need to hold on to (and follow) the last thing that you clearly heard God tell you to do. You have to trust that if He wants you to change directions, He will find a way to communicate that to you clearly. Until He does, stick firmly to the last thing that you know for sure He told you to do.

On the other hand, if God speaks to you and shows you that you are indeed going the wrong direction, you need to heed Him immediately. Be quick to stop what you were doing (even if it means that you lose face or look bad). Obeying God is much more important than saving face.

The key to recognizing God’s voice is relationship, relationship, relationship!!! You can’t recognize a voice, that you haven’t spent time listening to. Think about the relationship with your Dad – you recognize his voice because you’ve spent your lifetime in a relationship with him. The same goes for Father God. Intimacy is the key.

Scripture of the day: “The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.” ~ John 10:10 (NKJV)

From Pastor Peter Okereke Jr.
TLWMI. (c) Copyright Reserved, 2011.
(must use with written permission)

~SUBSCRIBE TO THIS BLOG~

This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Devotional | God’s Voice vs. Satan’s Voice

  1. pete says:

    I am vindicated! Halleluyah!! This is the greatest truth!!! Please, thank you. As a believer, I must make sure all my friends discover this truth. It is a masterpiece. Keep ut the good Work.

  2. At my job someone can call me and I can respond to them by name without them telling me their name. This ability to recognize their voice and who they are has only happened because I pay attention to them each time I see them or speak to them on the phone. I get to know their voice. I get to know their manner of speech. I get to know their heart. Its the same with God. I need to pay attention and spend time with Him regularly and I will get to know Him and His voice. This knowledge and ability to recognize will only come because I dedicate time to Him.

Leave a Reply

