Daily Devotional | Over-rated Anointing

Zechariah 4:6 NIV
“So he said to me, “This is the word of the Lord to Zerubbabel: ‘Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit,’ says the Lord Almighty.”
 
 
Jesus said; “You did not choose Me, but I choose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit, and that your fruit should remain, that whatever you ask the father in My name He may give you” (John 15:16).
 
If we receive from God, why do we act as though we spent our life savings to buy an anointing? What do you have that you did not receive? For you confirmation, spend sometime with believers like you, maybe in your church, or a christian conferences, with your television set. It is all over-rated! Fires without smoke!! Cunning empty barrels that makes the most noise!!!
 
Isn’t it amazing how God uses our everyday environments, people, and media to show us His presence, words, and faithfulness? God is truly in charge. Amen.
 
As I bathe my two children today, the voice of the Lord was thundering through my heart. He said, “Son, what do you think is going on in the world today?” For a moment, I pondered, I thought that I was thinking aloud. But the voice continued, louder, and very steady.  I realized that the Lord was speaking. “I don’t know Lord” I replied.” “And what do you think?”, He insisted. Then I realized that I was not giving Him the proper respect and attention for Him to teach me the lesson of the day! I quickly let my girls play in the water, while I had the moment with my Father.
 
First, He said that, “the people have set for themselves another standard, and have ignored all of My life-giving instructions”. Second, He said that, “The ones that answered My call, are no more HUMBLE!” And, thirdly, He said that “My Gifts of Anointing have been over-rated and is no more used according to My instructions”. For a brief moment, I was going to faint! The King, God is displeased. He wants you (myself included) to REPENT, with HUMBLE service to Him, so that He can save the Land, people and our tomorrow. God also said that “Every character of the Bible is for our training. From the Ant, to the Donkey, to Abram, Moses, Peter, Balaam, etc. “They are there for our lessons”, He concluded.
 
Are you over-rating yourself when it comes to your christian walk and the gift of the Holy Spirit? Are you excluding someone in your distribution of the gifts you received from God? Are you proud, racially biased or insensitive to others due to your rank or position? Is your money your weapon to fight those that depend on you? Are you giving enough time to the things that belong to us (the Church)? What is your views about others; cynical, profiled, socially under-rated, or not-my-class attitude?  If you posses any of these behaviors, you are over-rating your anointing. God wants you to repent, because, without His Spirit, you are a mere dust (Genesis 1&2)
 
For those that thinks that the Word of God is a myth, I have to warn you! God is faithful, and this you will find out when you die, rejection Christ who is the Word.
 
The Bible says that “There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit distributes them. There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord. There are different kinds of work, but in all of them and in everyone it is the same God at work. Now to each one the manifestation of the Spirit is given for the common good. To one, there is the message of wisdom, to another a message of knowledge by means of the same Spirit, faith, healing,  miraculous powers, prophecy, discernment, speaking in tongues, interpretation of tongues; All the work of one and the same Spirit, and he distributes them to each one, just as he determines.” (1 Corinthians 12:4-11 NIV). Your gift is for my service, and mine for yours. This must be done in truth, without over-laboring each other, and in love.
 
Do you have an adjustment to make? This devotional is meant to empower you. Remember,  “This is the word of the Lord to Zerubbabel: ‘Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit,’ says the Lord Almighty.”(Zechariah 4:6 NIV). If God speaks, He only wants to correct. Say to yourself ; “I can do all things, through Christ that strengthens me.” Then, swing into action! Repent, for the Kingdom of God is at Hand. God Bless you, mightily, in Jesus Name, Amen.
 
Scripture of the day: “A man’s pride will bring him low, But the humble in spirit will retain honor.” ~ Proverbs 29:23 NKJV
 
From Pastor Peter Okereke Jr.
TLWMI. (c) Copyright Reserved, 2011
(must use with written permission)
 
~SUBSCRIBE TO THIS BLOG~
About thelivingwordministries

The senior pastor and overseer of The Living Word Ministries Evanston, IL since 2010, the author of 'Living Victoriously' by Author-house publishers. My passion is present and lead others into Pure Praise, Pure Worship and Pure Word. This means that at our Church, the integrity of the Gospel is held to the letters, just as Jesus Christ preached and lived it. Come and join us, and God will surely Bless you mighty!
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

