Daily Devotional | ‘Celebration Thanksgiving: Another Round’

Psalm 34:1-3 KJV
“I will bless the Lord at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth. My soul shall make her boast in the Lord: the humble shall hear thereof, and be glad. O magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt his name together.”
As the year comes to an end, what are you thanking the LORD for? Are you celebrating because the country, state or county is celebrating? Or are you celebrating because you have a reason for this season? These questions sound offish, but truthfully, needs a genuine answer. Why are you celebrating this year’s thanksgiving?
I have many reasons to celebrate, for one, at least I am alive amidst all the bad news around me, and the world. Are you ever thankful for being alive regardless of all those obstacles you are going through? Do you believe that God left you alive for a purpose? Oh, because you are greater than all the people who passed? Obviously, you know that the answer is NO! Then, that is a reason to thank God.
In today’s devotional, I want to share with you some Biblical reasons we need to be thankful to God, not for this season alone, but always. Are you ready to hear this?
1. “I will bless the Lord at all times; His praise  shall  continually  be  in my mouth. I sought the Lord, and He heard me, And delivered me from all my fears. This poor man cried out, and the Lord heard  him,  And saved him out of all his troubles. Many  are  the afflictions of the righteous, But the Lord delivers him out of them all. He guards all his bones; Not one of them is broken” (Psalm 34:1, 4, 6, 19, 20 NKJV). According to a King, all the answered prayers, all deliverance from trouble, safety from afflictions (which our nation has seen many lately), and deliverance From all fears is a good reason to thank God.
You know readers, as a father of four, whenever the night comes and the entire family sits to dinner, I am the happiest person on earth! With the crazy world outside our various homes, taking a toll on my family daily gives me a bigger appetite to love God more. Within me, I know that it is only God that did it. Praise the Lord! Amen.
2. “Oh, give thanks to the Lord, for  He is  good! They wandered in the wilderness in a desolate way; They found no city to dwell in. Hungry and thirsty, Their soul fainted in them. Then they cried out to the Lord in their trouble,  And  He delivered them out of their distresses. And He led them forth by the right way, That they might go to a city for a dwelling place. For He satisfies the longing soul, And fills the hungry soul with goodness” (Psalm 107:1, 4-7, 9 NKJV).
I can very much relate to this act of God’s kindness to me (us all). I sincerely remain grateful to the Lord for His grace and mercy to me. Forgiveness of sins, healing brokenness and reconciliation with the God of all creation is a reason for me to celebrate this year’s Thanksgiving. I will laugh aloud, eat alive and dance again! Come on and celebrate with me.
3. “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life” (John 3:16 KJV). Have you received this great gift from God? Remember that this is the essence of your being here. God loves you enough to die for you. Thank you Lord.
4. “Praise ye the Lord. O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good: for his mercy endureth for ever. We have sinned with our fathers, we have committed iniquity, we have done wickedly. Our fathers understood not thy wonders in Egypt; they remembered not the multitude of thy mercies; but provoked him at the sea, even at the Red Sea. Nevertheless he saved them for his name’s sake, that he might make his mighty power to be known. He rebuked the Red Sea also, and it was dried up: so he led them through the depths, as through the wilderness. And he saved them from the hand of him that hated them, and redeemed them from the hand of the enemy. And the waters covered their enemies: there was not one of them left. Then believed they his words; they sang his praise” (Psalm 106:1, 6-12 KJV).
As we celebrate, let us reflect on where we came from, how far we were walloped in sins, and how faithful God is on his promises. Thank Him also for that!
5. “What shall I return to the Lord for all his goodness to me? I will lift up the cup of salvation and call on the name of the Lord. I will fulfill my vows to the Lord in the presence of all his people. I will sacrifice a thank offering to you and call on the name of the Lord” (Psalm 116:12-14, 17 NIV). When you realize that you are on loan to the Lord, then thanksgiving to Him will be the easiest thing you will do. Can you relate to this?
Well, I want to stop so far. You can complete the list of reasons you should make God the center of this Thanksgiving.
At this point, I just want to thank all of you for your immense contribution to my (our family’s) life, your faithfulness to the pursuit of the Lord, and increased loyalty to your calling. Thank you from our heart, and sincere thank you for all your efforts. Thanks.
May the Almighty God, Jesus Christ bless you mighty. And may you celebrate many more thanksgiving seasons. Amen.
Scripture of the day: Give thanks unto the LORD, call upon his name, make known his deeds among the people. ~ 1 Chronicles 16:8 KJV
From Pastor Peter Okereke Jr.
TLWMI. Copyright Reserved, 2011.
(must use with a written permission)
~SUBSCRIBE TO THIS BLOG~
About thelivingwordministries

The senior pastor and overseer of The Living Word Ministries Evanston, IL since 2010, the author of 'Living Victoriously' by Author-house publishers. My passion is present and lead others into Pure Praise, Pure Worship and Pure Word. This means that at our Church, the integrity of the Gospel is held to the letters, just as Jesus Christ preached and lived it. Come and join us, and God will surely Bless you mighty!
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

