Daily Devotional | Fighting Depression

Psalm 88:2, 4-6 NKJV
“Let my prayer come before You; Incline Your ear to my cry. I am counted with those who go down to the pit; I am like a man who has no strength, Adrift among the dead, Like the slain who lie in the grave, Whom You remember no more, And who are cut off from Your hand. You have laid me in the lowest pit, In darkness, in the depths.”

Are you suffering from depression? Bi-polar disease? Or mental sickness? Even David, the King after God’s own heart was depressed! And so it inches around us daily.

Biblically speaking, Depression is not a disease, it is the overwhelming vacuum in any man/ woman yearning for the filling of the spirit of God. Unfortunately, many have been diagnosed, resulting in an over doped up society, which is not a cure for spiritual sickness.

Most depression is caused by sin, an overflow of demonic spirit. Oftentimes, it starts with the individual feeling guilty, ashamed, gloomy, bi-polar, timid, condemned and rejected. The next stage is anger, blaming people and isolation. Listen,  the devil lies about everything, including being the accuser of the brethen… Also, he lies that God is not able to accept us back after we sinned. lies!!! Mastering God by His words is the key to all spiritual healing. You have to study it, fit it into your vacuum, and then apply it in the areas you find yourself.

Instances in the Bible have shown that whenever God is outside any man, He is just not right! Only God can fit within that vacuum. Trying everything available to man failed. When God left King Saul, the psalms of violin by David soothed and calmed him. Saul healed. When David lied, sinned, killed and was dejected, he pleaded with God not to “take away His Holy Spirit ” from him. This is proof that without the Spirit of God, we all will fall into a deep loom of depression.

Most times, we get depressed whenever we choose to do otherwise against what is right. We get even more depressed whenever we seek a different cure other than God and God alone.

Also, depression comes when we reject who we are, and start assuming other people’s characters, lifestyles, etc. Too much of everything is bad, sinful and can cause depression.

Cain was depressed after he killed Abel, Peter was depressed after he left the Lord’s commission to win souls, Judas became very depressed after betraying Jesus Christ that he hung himself. Herod died, eaten up by maggots, King Nebucchadenazzer was messed up, eating with the wild beasts. So depression is no respecter of anyone, it is the evil prevalent, and should be expected as a Christian.

Sometimes, it comes as the devil mounts his barrage of accusations against us, or when we begin to see ourselves as failures, unequal to other ‘super Apostles’, not fulfilled in what we are aspiring for. Many other reasons can open a door for depression, but the things to watch out for are those that judge and accuse you. Avoid them as much as you can, and make newer friends from within a Living Church. Volunteer your time to serve others, and God will give you peace, joy and favor.

This is KEY…

1. Avoid drugs, alcohol and medications, but try meditation of bible verses. Trust God reverently. Try praise and worship. Pray all the time, and share your testimonies, good or bad. Stay focused on God. If you are not a believer, become one now. Without Christ, your life is already depressed (John 3:16-18).

2. “Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come near to God and he will come near to you. Wash your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded” (James 4:7, 8 NIV).

3. “I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah. I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the Lord sustained me. I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people, that have set themselves against me round about” (Psalm 3:4-6 KJV). It is only the Lord that can sustain you.

4. “Cast thy burden upon the Lord, and he shall sustain thee: he shall never suffer the righteous to be moved” (Psalm 55:22 KJV). God does not lie, if you take Him by His word, your depression will flee.

5. “Ho! Everyone who thirsts, Ho! Everyone who thirsts, Come to the waters; And you who have no money, Come, buy and eat. Yes, come, buy wine and milk Without money and without price. Why do you spend money for  what is  not bread, And your wages for  what  does not satisfy? Listen carefully to Me, and eat  what is  good, And let your soul delight itself in abundance. Incline your ear, and come to Me. Hear, and your soul shall live; And I will make an everlasting covenant with you The sure mercies of David” (Isaiah 55:1-3 NKJV). Walking with the Lord in obedience heals all manner of diseases.

6. “Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You  are  with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me” (Psalm 23:4 NKJV).

God Bless you as you take your life back.

Scripture of the day: Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life. Psalm 143:8 NIV

Pastor Peter Okereke Jr.
TLWMI. Copyright Reserved, 2011.
(must use with a written permission)
www.tlwmi.org

~SUBSCRIBE TO THIS BLOG~

About thelivingwordministries

The senior pastor and overseer of The Living Word Ministries Evanston, IL since 2010, the author of 'Living Victoriously' by Author-house publishers. My passion is present and lead others into Pure Praise, Pure Worship and Pure Word. This means that at our Church, the integrity of the Gospel is held to the letters, just as Jesus Christ preached and lived it. Come and join us, and God will surely Bless you mighty!
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Daily Devotional | Fighting Depression

  1. joel landong says:

    i want to know more about god.and i want that this website will be my steppingstone to recognize my creator.i’m asking for your help.

    • Hallelujah! We are here to help in every way. Subscribe to this Blog and receive the word daily. Do you have a bible? We are more than happy to send you study materials. contact us for questions or prayer ptlwlive@aol.com

      Peter

    • I am in the same boat, having lost my faith. I miss my relationship with Jesus more than anything.

      • James 4:8 says, “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded” It is never to late to rekindle your relationship with Jesus. We all fall short of His glory. Forgive yourself and The Lord will forgive you also. Thanks for reading.

    • Nina says:

      God is a almighty God in which All things are possible! I have had many blessings in my life! I used to be bowned and shackled by drugs and alcohol but the Lord did something magnificent and he touched my heart and soul! I have been 9 years sober. There were no days in a rehabilitation center. The only rehabilitation that I needed was the Lord Jesus Christ who died for all our sins. ( He made me clean) He took away the old and made a new. He brought a awesome man in my life that made my priorties straight. You see I had a child that I put off for many months for these drugs and alcohol. That asked about her momma and needed me when I wasnt there. That is the most delicate year of that sweet ones life and I missed it all because of the devil. That is a year I will never get back .But I can proudly say that I now have 3 amazing girls to whom I am they’re momma. They dont have to ask where I am, when I will come home or if I am even alive. Because I am here. It is my prayer that you never go through these trials that I have! I know that it has been a while since you posted this but I hope that you will see this! I am not a saint because the Lord knows I fail him daily. But he is such a loving Lord that he forgives me and LOVES me for just who I am and who YOU are!!! So dear friend you are in my prayers I hope that you have found the Lord but IF not I pray that you see this and what the Lord has done in my life! He is amazing and always with you! May God bless you!!!!

  2. Pat says:

    Thank you for sharing. I just found this blog and I am subscribing today. I have suffered from depression in many forms over many years. I am now 57 years and determined to overcome the darkness and shine my little light in my corner of the world. Your words have blessed me and encouraged me. God bless you and your children always. Praying for all those depressed mommas everywhere. I’m so glad God saved me and helps me overcome everything. Peace and Mercy and Grace to you!!!!!

  3. Laura A Nieting says:

    Dear Peter, I am requesting you take this article down. I am a Christian. I come from a family of strong beliefs and numberous pastors in my family. I was diagnosed with depression over 2 years ago. I pray often and I think your article is ludacris. Sins are not the reason for depression. Depression is not a disease in the bible just like how cancer, the flu, and Ebola were not in the bible. I would like to congratulate you on being an arrogant bigot. I hope you do not continue your ministries and lead people astray. My depression is not from my sins but from my genes. My sins have been forgiven from the blood of Christ. Therefore, I do not believe I have been given this illness for sins that God himself gave his ONLY son for. By the way, I do not do drugs, drink or the other things you have blamed me for have depression.

  4. Lauren says:

    Seriously, did you just tell thousands of people that they are depressed because they sin? Really? Has to be the worst “Biblical” advice on depression ever. Depression is a real disease! How dare you try to make people feel even worse about themselves. Very sad.

  5. Katie says:

    I absolutely agree that you cannot fight depression without faith and commitment to the Lord. Depression, anxiety, chronic negativity–these are forms of self-oppression, are evils separating us from God.

    That said, I do not believe that a victim of depression should ever rely solely on a commitment to God to get himself or herself out–just as a seriously injured or sick person should not ever just relay on prayer for healing, and just as a jobless person should never just sit at home and wait for a job to come.

    I have struggled with depression since before I can remember. I grew up in a very loving home, with two supportive parents who raised me well and who pushed me to go to church. Over the past few years, in college, I really did come to know God and dedicate my life to Him and to being the very best Christian I can be. It’s been incredible and beautiful to grow in Christ and to be a part of a Christian community where I can see God work in the lives of the people around me.

    Even so, I do still struggle with depression. I am stable, I am able to function. But it hurts me, hurts the people around me, and certainly keeps me from God. It’s a work in progress. As I said, I’ve struggled my whole life. I’ve been on medication since I was 9 (and I needed it badly). Now I am receiving Christian counseling, and I have recently made a commitment to God to do whatever it takes to conquer depression in His name–to make my battle a daily commitment to him. To fight negative thoughts with opposing Christian thoughts, with the perspective God wants me to have. I will see where this journey takes me, and I do have confidence I will see success.

    It will take more than just prayer and positivity, though. Faith must be accompanied by action. I have to do things like eat right, exercise, do acts of service, keep a daily journal, do a devotion. I need to strive for balance, but it must always be in God’s name–it must always be FOR God.

    I believe that God gifts us with ways of dealing with our problems. Obviously those gifts should NEVER replace faith in God’s plan for us or a commitment to living a Godly life.
    Bad things happen in the world because of sin…but they are not always our fault, or they are not always wholly our fault. It can be damaging to assume full blame for the sin of depression. We are all given unique struggles and obstacles in life, and I don’t think God ever desires us to either give up technology OR rely on it too heavily. Anything you do should be in God’s name: “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters” (Colossians 3:23). But I don’t think it’s ever wrong to knowledgeable about the science at stake (knowledge the Lord has allowed us to have), or to try medical treatments in God’s name. (Though less medicine is always good!)

Leave a Reply

