Daily Devotional | Dealing With Worry

Matthew 6:25 NKJV
“Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing?”

In life, Worrying is bound to occur in intervals, but when these worries become frequent, and we start to doubt God’s ability, something is wrong. I am not a super-human! So don’t get me wrong; I sometimes get worried over some stuff, but I can say, I always quickly refer it to God.

The Gospel of Matthew gives us a direct answer on worrying and God’s view concerning it. His reward to the un-worrisome believers are greater than the worry. The fruit of worry is nothing but fear, Fear of what may or may not happen. In the midst of excessive worrying, you may suffer with high anxiety — even panic — during waking hours. Many chronic worriers tell of feeling a sense of impending doom or unrealistic fears that only increase their worries. Ultra-sensitive to their environment and to the criticism of others, excessive worriers may see anything — and anyone — as a potential threat. This is no way to live.

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life? If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own” (Matthew 6:25-27, 30-34 NIV).

According to the scriptures, to start worrying about what you have no control of is flat-out disobedience, and displays faithlessness in The God you call Lord and Savior. You should be worried about your destination after life here on earth, and this means that wisdom to serve God faithfully should be of concern, not of worry: Jesus paid that price.

As I was going through these scripture verses, I was deeply touched how one can easily re-prioritize his/her destiny. Satan wants us to doubt God’s word, to focus on ourselves instead of God, to separate us from God and to lose all He (God) has for us.

Worry is a spiritual overflow. It is executed by Satan and his demons. As a believer, you are the target, and if you are not informed, deeply rooted in the word of God, stumbling and backsliding from your first love will occur.

To you, Jesus during this sermon asked these questions;

1. “Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?
2. “Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?
3. “Can any one of you, by worrying add a single hour to your life?
This is my opinion…it is easy for you that are in the midst of worrying to think that I just don’t get it! You might not believe me when I say that worrying is an illusion, a demonic overflow. This is real, and I am telling the truth. I lived a life of many experiences, and I recently began to draw from my various experiences  to encourage others. God is real. If you believe that, then believe also that He is all Powerful, and able to do whatever He promised. As you make Jesus Lord and Savior, Satan will be offended, and will do all he can to depress you. According to Revelation 12: 17, “… The dragon was enraged at the woman and went off to wage war against the rest of her offspring—those who keep God’s commands and hold fast their testimony about Jesus”. That rage is what makes you worried. While worried, also remember that the death of Christ also overcame him (Rev. 12:11), so worrying yourself out means that you are not a believer, or still doubt the deity, supremacy and God-head of your Savior.

I testify that God is able to do all things according to His word, and if He did it for me from age 12, to the present day, I know you must have something to learn from me which the Bible confirms. Trust God, and redirect your focus. Spend more time with the Lord, and fellowship with bible believing Christians. Do not forget that”…, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You  are  with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You anoint my head with oil; My cup runs over. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me All the days of my life; And I will dwell in the house of the Lord Forever” (Psalm 23:4-6 NKJV).

God bless you, in Jesus Name, Amen.

Scripture of the day: And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him. ~ Hebrews 11:6 NIV

Pastor Peter Okereke Jr.

TLWMI. Copyright Reserved, 2011.
(must be used with a written permission)

~SUBSCRIBE TO THIS BLOG~

| IF YOU LOVE IT SHARE IT | 

About thelivingwordministries

The senior pastor and overseer of The Living Word Ministries Evanston, IL since 2010, the author of 'Living Victoriously' by Author-house publishers. My passion is present and lead others into Pure Praise, Pure Worship and Pure Word. This means that at our Church, the integrity of the Gospel is held to the letters, just as Jesus Christ preached and lived it. Come and join us, and God will surely Bless you mighty!
This entry was posted in Daily Devotional and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

